Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted in Cat Laws, News @ BCR, Tigers, Videos | 0 comments

Today at Big Cat Rescue Aug 9 2013

DeNiro Im-purr-sonator on Big Cat Ban

Take Action to Save Tigers at BigCatBan.com

 

DeNiro Im-purr-sonator on Big Cat Ban

 

Tiger Toting Felon at Denver County Fair

 

If you were the director of the Denver County Fair in Colorado, wouldn’t you research the people and acts you were bringing in and promoting? Wouldn’t you take 5 minutes to find out if the person bringing tiger cubs to your fair year after year is a convicted felon on multiple counts? Wouldn’t you be concerned that the USDA has filed a lawsuit against this person to revoke his license after years of USDA violations and the deaths of dozens of animals in his care?

It seems the management of the Denver County Fair did not. Otherwise, a quick Internet search would have revealed reams of negative information about Serenity Springs and its notorious owner Nick Sculac.

What about if you were a reporter doing a story about the Denver County Fair? Surely a reporter, who is trained to do research, would look into all angles of a story? Guess not. Reporter Tom Green from Denver’s Channel 2 only did a fluff piece about Sculac and the six-week-old tiger cub he used to promote the upcoming fair. Not once in the news piece did Green mention Sculac’s abusive history with animals or question whether young cubs forced to be handled by hundreds of people at the fair would be in the best interest of the cubs.

As those of us who truly love and appreciate big cats know, the real fact is that exotic cats should not be exploited at fairs and other venues and used for entertainment and profit. Please add your voice to ours in speaking up for these cubs: politely let the Denver County Fair and Denver’s Channel 2 news station know that the majority of people in America love animals and want these abusive practices to end.

Thank you!!

 

Sample Letter:

I am shocked and disgusted to learn that the Denver County Fair is featuring visitor interactions with baby tiger cubs provided by Serenity Springs Wildlife Center. Nick Sculac, the notorious owner of Serenity Springs, is a convicted felon and the USDA has filed a lawsuit against him to revoke his license after years of USDA violations and the deaths of at least 31 animals in his care.

Quoting from the USDA and Secretary of Agriculture’s enforcement document regarding Serenity Springs dated February 1, 2012: “The gravity of the violations herein is great, and include the repeated noncompliance with the regulations and failure to meet the minimum standards for veterinary care, housing, and husbandry. Between May 2007 and January 2010, no fewer than 31 animals in respondent’s custody died.”

Is this the type of person the Denver County Fair and Channel 2 want to associate with and promote? Do you not do any research before allowing vendors to take part in your fair or be promoted on television? It is unconscionable that the Denver County Fair allows this! Please do the right thing immediately and halt your association with and promotion of this convicted felon and his irresponsible breeding and exploitation of tiger cubs and other wild animals.

 

Contact these people and let them know how you feel:

Denver County Fair

Dana Cain, Director 303-347-8252 dana@denvercountyfair.org

Tracy Weil, Marketing Director 303-913-7508 tracy@denvercountyfair.org

Andrew Novick, Entertainment Director andrew@denvercountyfair.org

Thea Hutcheson, Operations thea@denvercountyfair.org

Joan Hobbs, Competition Director joan@denvercountyfair.org

 

Fair’s FB page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Denver-County-Fair/144967205531111

 

IAFE

Jim Tucker, President jimt@fairsandexpos.com

 

KWGN Channel 2

Newsroom phone: 303-566-7600

Newsroom email: tips@kwgn.com

 

Tom Green, Reporter tom.green@kdvr.com

 

Will Holden, Producer will.holden@kdvr.com

 

No Tigers in Malibu

 

Ventura County has conditionally APPROVED the housing of five tigers in the residential area of West Malibu at 11077 Pacific View Road, Malibu. We are writing to you to ask for your support to ensure that tigers are not introduced into this residential and sensitive wildlife area.  The permit appears to be in Irena’s sister’s name:

SOPHIA KRYSZEK of ISIS PRESERVATION USDA # 93-C-0762 7131 TUJUNGA AVENUE NORTH HOLLYWOOD ,CA 91605

 

Attached you will find the County’s approval of the project.

In short, the tiger merchant Irena Hauser allegedly has her residence in Beverly Hills, CA, but claims in her application that her family will be living on site with the tigers in Malibu. Hauser claims that the tigers will be used in the entertainment industry but she already commercializes them by selling tiger clothing and “teeth” online. Hauser claims that the tigers will be transported for filming purposes, putting the public at even greater risk every time the tigers are transported.

Tigers are motivated to escape by stimulus and these tigers will be surrounded by stimuli. They will be in the middle of the sensitive Santa Monica Mountains which support such wildlife as deer, rabbits and coyotes. Other domestic animals in the vicinity include many horses in an equestrian stable just next door to the proposed site for the tigers. The smell of horses will certainly stimulate the tigers’ appetite for escape.

The County has stated that they intend to issue a Negative Declaration for this project, implying there would be no significant impacts. No biological assessments have been made, violating permitting requirements in Ventura County. The noise and smell of the tigers will deter wildlife from using the area for foraging, shelter or movement between habitat areas. Over the long term, the larger wildlife species will no longer utilize the natural resources in the vicinity. This area is home to wildlife, living peaceably among residential family homes, small farming communities, and stables.

Please write a letter opposing case PL 13-0011 to the assigned case planner: jay.dobrowalski@ventura.org, or otherwise assist us in this matter. Attached is a list of County Supervisors who should also receive the opposition letters. Please send us a copy of your letter to notigersmalibu@gmail.com. We need your immediate help!  notigersmalibu@gmail.com

Ventura County Board of Supervisors

Steve Bennett, District 1 Supervisor supervisor.bennett@ventura.org steve.bennett@ventura.org

Linda Parks, District 2 Supervisor fax: 805-480-0585 Linda.Parks@ventura.org

Kathy Long, District 3 Supervisor kathy.long@ventura.org

Peter C. Foy, District 4 Supervisor supervisor.foy@ventura.org

John C. Zaragoza, District 5 Supervisor john.zaragoza@ventura.org

Ventura County Planning Division 800 S. Victoria L#1740, Ventura CA 93009 tel: 805-654-2481 fax: 805-654-2509

 

Brian Baca, Commercial and Industrial Permits Section Manager Brian.Baca@ventura.org

Jay Dobrowalski, Case Planner Jay.Dobrowalski@ventura.org fax: 805-654-2509

Kim Prillhart, Planning Director kim.prillhart@ventura.org

Daniel Klemann, Residential Permits Supervisor daniel.klemann@ventura.org

Tricia Maier, Senior Program Administrator tricia.maier@ventura.org

Rosemary Rowan, Advanced Planning Supervisor rosemary.rowan@ventura.org

Winston Wright, Discretionary Permit Coordinator Winston.Wright@ventura.org

 

Today at Big Cat Rescue Aug 9 2013

Add Comment Register



Post a Reply