Anti-Declaw Ordinance: Support

Paw Project

September 18, 2009

URGENT

The Paw Project is pleased to announce that the cities of Los Angeles, San Francisco
and Santa Monica are proposing to ban the practice of cat declawing.

In order to achieve a victory, the will of the people must be heard. 

Please write a paper letter and mail it or fax it.
(Email letters are much less effective.)

The battle is time sensitive. Our window closes after January 1, 2010. The veterinarians who declaw cats and report making upwards of $1000/hour doing it, have made a law that restricts local governments in their ability to decide what constitutes animal cruelty.

A sample letter, with parts that you must personalize, is up for you to print and sign and send/fax. The addresses of all of the city officials are also listed for your convenience.

Your efforts make a difference! Please be part of this important movement. The time is now. The first deadline for Santa Monica is September 22, 2009. We cannot let this opportunity pass.

WHAT YOU CAN DO

The following California cities currently are proposing bans on cat declawing:

Los Angeles
San Francisco
Santa Monica

Please take a moment to contact one or more representatives from each city and go on record expressing your support for a ban on feline declawing.  YOU ARE NOT REQUIRED TO BE A RESIDENT TO EXPRESS YOUR SUPPORT FOR THE BAN. If you are a resident of one of these cities, please say so as it will further assist these elected representatives in their decisions.

LOS ANGELES

Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa
Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. 
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Phone: 213-978-0600
Fax: 213-978-0750
Email: mayor@lacity.org

District 1 – Ed Reyes

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 410
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Phone: 213-473-7001
Fax: 213-485-8907
Email: councilmember.reyes@lacity.org

District 2 – Open (election for this seat to come)
Phone: 213-473-7002

District 3 – Dennis P. Zine

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 450
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 
Phone: 213-473-7003
Email: councilmember.zine@lacity.org

District 4 – Tom LaBonge

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 480
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 
Phone: 213-473-7004
Fax: 213-624-7810
Email: councilmember.labonge@lacity.org

District 5 – Paul Koretz

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 440
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Phone: 213-473-7005
Fax: 213-978-2250
Email: paul.koretz@lacity.org

District 6 – Tony Cardenas

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 455
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Phone: 213-473-7006
Fax: 213-847-0549
Email: councilmember.cardenas@lacity.org

District 7 – Richard Alarcon

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 425
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 
Phone: 213-473-7007
Fax: 213-847-0707
Email: (use contact form at www.lacity.org/council/cd7/contact.htm)

District 8 – Bernard Parks

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 460
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 
Phone: 213-473-7008
Fax: 213-485-7683
Email: councilmember.parks@lacity.org

District 9 – Jan Perry

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 420
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 
Phone: 213-473-7009
Fax: 213-473-5946
Email: jan.perry@lacity.org

District 10 – Herb J. Wesson, Jr.

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 430
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Phone: 213-473-7010
Fax: 213-485-9829
Email: councilmember.wesson@lacity.org

District 11 – Bill Rosendahl

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 415
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 
Phone: 213-473-7011
Fax: 213-473-6926
Email: councilmember.rosendahl@lacity.org

District 12 – Greig Smith

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 405
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 
Phone: 213-473-7012
Fax: 213-473-6925
Email: councilmember.smith@lacity.org

District 13 – Eric Garcetti

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 470
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 
Phone: 213-473-7013
Fax: 213-613-0819
Email: councilmember.garcetti@lacity.org

District 14 – Jose Huizar

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 465
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Phone: 213-473-7014
Fax: 213-847-0680
Email: councilmember.huizar@lacity.org

District 15 – Janice Hahn

Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring St. Room 435
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 
Phone: 213-473-7015
Fax: 213-626-5431
Email: councilmember.hahn@lacity.org

SAN FRANCISCO

Mayor Gavin Newsom

City Hall, Room 200
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
San Francisco, CA 94102

Telephone: (415) 554-6141
Fax: (415) 554-6160
Email: gavin.newsom@sfgov.org

Supervisor David Chiu
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-7450 – voice
(415) 554-7454 – fax
David.Chiu@sfgov.org

Supervisor Eric Mar
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-7410 – voice
(415) 554-7415 – fax
Eric.L.Mar@sfgov.org

Supervisor Michela Alioto-Pier
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-7752 – voice
(415) 554-7843 – fax
Michela.Alioto-Pier@sfgov.org

Supervisor Carmen Chu
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-7460 – voice
(415) 554-7432 – fax
Carmen.Chu@sfgov.org

Supervisor Ross Mirkarimi
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-7630 – voice
(415) 554-7634 – fax
Ross.Mirkarimi@sfgov.org

Supervisor Chris Daly
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-7970 – voice
(415) 554-7974 – fax
Chris.Daly@sfgov.org

Supervisor Sean Elsbernd
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-6516 – voice
(415) 554-6546 – fax
Sean.Elsbernd@sfgov.org

Supervisor Bevan Dufty
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-6968 – voice
(415) 554-6909 – fax
Bevan.Dufty@sfgov.org

Supervisor David Campos
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-5144 – voice
(415) 554-6255 – Fax
David.Campos@sfgov.org

Supervisor Sophie Maxwell
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-7670 – voice
(415) 554-7674 – fax
Sophie.Maxwell@sfgov.org

Supervisor John Avalos
City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, Ca 94102-4689
(415) 554-6975 – voice
(415) 554-6979 – fax
John.Avalos@sfgov.org

SANTA MONICA

Mayor Ken Genser
Contact Information:
1685 Main Street, Room 209, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Office (310) 458-8201               city@genser.org
Fax (310)458-1621                 

   Home (310) 395-0223

 Mayor Pro Tempore Pam O'Connor
Contact Information:
1685 Main Street, Room 209, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Message (310)458-8201
Fax (310)458-1621                               pam.oconnor@smgov.net

Richard Bloom
Contact Information:
1685 Main Street, Room 209, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Message (310)458-8201
Fax (310)458-1621                                 richard.bloom@smgov.net

 Gleam Davis
Contact Information:
1685 Main Street, Room 209, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Message (310)458-8201
Fax (310)458-1621                                   gleam.davis@smgov.net

Robert Holbrook
Contact Information:
760 Ermont Place, Santa Monica, CA 90402
Home (310)394-1094                     Fax (310)393-7948 home
Fax (310)393-7948                         robert.holbrook@smgov.net

Kevin McKeown
Contact Information:
848-E 16th Street, Santa Monica, 90403
Home (310) 393-3639                         Fax (310) 393-3609 home
Fax (310) 458-1621 office                   kevin@mckeown.net

 Bobby Shriver
Contact Information:
1685 Main Street, Room 209, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Message (310)458-8201
Fax (310)458-1621                               bobby.shriver@smgov.net

Here's the sample letter:

(Your Name)

(Your Address)

(Your Phone Number) 

September 16, 2009 

RE: Anti-Declaw Ordinance: Support  

Dear Councilmember __________: 

Please consider enacting a ban on declawing of cats in the city of ___________. 

      Declawing is a separate amputation of each of the last bones in cats’ toes. 

      Declawing a cat puts that cat at a higher risk of losing its home because of the behavior problems (biting and litter box avoidance) that occur after declawing. Statistics show that declawed cats are more likely to be relinquished. 

      Declawed cats, because they are more likely to lose their homes, put an extra burden on the already over-burdened animal shelter system. 

      Declawing a cat to protect a child or immunocompromised person is not recommended by physicians because a declawed cat is more likely to bite. 

      Declawing with laser is still an amputation of the last bones in cats’ toes and is just as painful or maybe even more painful as other methods of declawing. 

      There are many humane alternatives to declawing. Routine nail trims, appropriate scratching posts, Soft Paws ® (vinyl sheaths that fit over the nail), and double sided sticky tape all work well. 

      Declawing is illegal in much of the rest of the world. It is considered inhumane and characterized as mutilation. 
 

Please make the city more humane towards our companion animals. 

Thank you very much, 
 
 

(Your Signature)


For the cats,

Carole Baskin, CEO of Big Cat Rescue
an Educational Sanctuary home
to more than 100 big cats
12802 Easy Street Tampa, FL  33625
813.493.4564 fax 885.4457

http://www.BigCatRescue.org

Until Sept. 27, 2009 you can vote once a day for Scott Lope, our Operations's manager, to win Animal Planet's Hero of the Year Award.  As many of you already know, Scott had a career in medicine, but gave it up to be a full time volunteer and then staff at Big Cat Rescue.  You can see a video of him in action rescuing all kinds of animals in addition to the care he provides the big cats at Big Cat Rescue on our web site at http://www.BigCatRescue.org

Please help him win as this is great publicity for the plight of big cats and it will provide $10,000 in cash to feed the cats at Big Cat Rescue as well as a much needed vacation for Scott.  Your DAILY vote can win this for us here:

http://animal.discovery.com/roar/hero-of-the-year/vote/

Free ways to join us and help the big cats:

Twitter:  Follow Me and be invited to enter our Animal Lover's Dream Vacation Giveaway!  http://twitter.com/BigCatRescue

How much did you like this?

Tags:

  • Show Comments (0)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

comment *

  • name *

  • email *

  • website *

You May Also Like

CHINA PREMIER WARNED OF TIGER VOW ‘MOCKERY’

EIA’s personal letter highlights gap between promises and actions   THE Environmental Investigation Agency ...

Poacher arrested from Sunderbans

Poacher arrested from Sunderbans 8 Apr 2009, 0550 hrs IST, TNN KOLKATA: Six months ...

For the tiger, a year closer to extinction

For the tiger, a year closer to extinction By Deepesh Shrestha (AFP) – 10.31.2009 ...