Ocelots Grade 3 to 5 Science

Avatar BCR Staff | May 30, 2012 1 View 0 Likes 0 Ratings

1 View 0 Ratings Rate it

Ocelots have white, tan or reddish gray fur with brown spots outlined in black. Their ears are black with a white or yellow spot. These spots are called flashes.

Ocelots have 1-2 babies in a litter. At about one year of age they move away from their family. They live alone most of their adult life.

Like other cats, ocelots are meat eaters. Meat eaters are also called carnivores. They are most active at night (nocturnal) which is when they usually hunt. Their diet consists mainly of mice, rats, opossums and armadillos. They also eat deer, squirrel monkeys, tortoises, fish, reptiles, birds and crabs.

Ocelots are from Southern Texas as well as Central and South America. These cats live in rainforest, semi-desert and coastal marsh areas. They can survive in many different areas but don’t live in open country.

In the past these cats were hunted for their beautiful coats. They were also sold as pets. At this time the biggest threat to ocelots is habitat destruction.


1. Ocelots live in a variety of habitats including rainforests, deserts and coastal marshes. In what habitat would you not find an Ocelot?


2. What have humans done to contribute to the decline of the Ocelot population?

Teacher’s Answer Key   Print This Page

Read more about the Ocelot or print out PDF

Leave a Reply


This post currently has no responses.

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright 2020 Big Cat Rescue